Laws concerning driving under the influence, or any kind of situation for the matter, will differ from one state to the next. In case you or someone you know is charged with DUI, a practical next step would be to hire a DUI lawyer. Apart from hiring an expert DUI lawyer in your state, it’s important to be knowledgeable with the DUI laws in Florida.
Refusing to Take a Chemical Test
Though you have your own rights, in Florida, if you refuse a chemical test then you’ll immediately be subjected to a fine and an automatic suspensions of your license; this is because of Florida’s implied consent law. The first offense will result in a 1 year suspension of the license, the second equates to an 18 month suspension and the succeeding offenses will result to more.
Pleading for a Lesser Offense
Under a specific set of circumstances, the prosecution in Florida may accept plea bargains of what we call ‘wet reckless’. A wet reckless is otherwise known as a conviction of reckless driving that involves alcohol, the end result of a plea bargain where the entire drunk driving charge is reduced to reckless driving. Wet reckless can only occur if the alcohol is borderline illegal, the defendant doesn’t have any record and no accident took place.
Florida’s Drinking and Driving Laws
In Florida, the laws that govern drunk driving prohibits driving any vehicle with a .08 percent blood alcohol content or higher. The blood alcohol content of .08% is the limit and standard measure implemented across the United States; with blood alcohol content of these levels, the driver is considered impaired. The overall limit is even lower for people who drive commercial vehicles, only at .04%, and is almost non-existed for drivers aged 21 and younger at only .02%.